It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? No wait it’s Saturday…

Saturday’s better than Monday, right? Anyways, I’m going to participate in that IMWAYR meme and go ahead and check in.

Image result for make me by lee child

First off, let’s start by talking about this new book I’m reading. It’s called Make Me” by Lee Child, I’m about 121 pages into it, and it’s a Jack Reacher novel. I’ve never read a Jack Reacher novel, but I know of him, in that he’s a Jason Bourne or James Bond kind of guy. This story takes place as he’s just traveling to place to place around the country, not doing anything particular, till he lands in a town in the middle of nowhere called Mother’s Rest and ends up in a bit of a mess. This quote pretty much sums up why he decides to stay, which is interesting to me:

Either way Reacher figured he might as well find out. He had no place to go, and all the time in the world to get there, so detours cost him nothing.

There is a sentence on the back of the book that both sums up the reason for the title of this book and Jack’s character that I find amusing:

Walking away would have been easier. But as always, Reacher’s rule is: If you want me to stop, you’re going to have to make me.

It’s in third person, so you also get to experience what the town thinks of this newcomer, which adds a new perspective that I really like. Let’s just say that this “mess” begins on the first page, where the scene opens on a couple of guys from our bad guy organization burying an investigator who got too close. Nothing like starting things off with a murder. That get’s a thumbs up from me.

It’s not all action all the time, though. You get some comedy. Jack Reacher’s simple outlook and dry humor actually kind of livens up the story for me.

“We should get a cup of coffee.”
Chang said, “I don’t understand how you drink so much coffee.”
“Law of gravity,” Reacher said. “If you tip it up, it comes right out. You can’t help but drink it.”
“Your heart must be thumping all the time.”
“Better than the alternative.”

I mean, come on, this guy makes asking for the phone-book funny.

There was a small wire-mesh holder on the counter, full of business cards supplied by the MoneyGram franchise. A side benefit, presumably, along with the commission. Reacher took a card and read it. The guy’s name was not Maloney. Reacher asked him, “You got a local phone book?”

“What for?”

“I want to balance it on my head to improve my deportment.”

“What?”

“I want to look up a number. What else is a phone book for?”

My grandmother is the one who recommended it to me, actually (she loves murder mysteries and action stories of the sort, she’s my best friend, I swear) because she liked some of the writing techniques in it. I’ve already encountered some of the techniques she has talked about, but let’s save that for the book review. Let’s just say that I’m really enjoying it so far. Action/thriller is my favorite genre, after all (thrillers with a scifi splash being my absolute favorite variation).

If you cannot wait to read about it, and need to read a book review right now, I discovered that this book is so popular that the Huffington Post wrote one here. But don’t worry, in just a few weeks, you’ll have my own take on it.

Hope all of you are having a great weekend so far!

 

signing off,

takanoir

 

408

One thought on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? No wait it’s Saturday…

Leave a Reply

