It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? Oh, a day early…

Yeah, this is never happening on Monday. Let’s accept it. Okay? Okay.

Image result for on writing stephen king

I’m currently reading “On Writing” by Stephen King (I don’t read horror and even I’ve heard of him; if you haven’t, you poor soul, here is a way to get to know him better), and I’m on page 107 out of 297. I’ve now finished the series of memories he shares with the audience, as they’re meant to show how a writer is made. I’ve come to the section where he explains to us that writing is actually telepathy (a point both brilliant and intriguing), following up with the point that writing should be taken seriously.

I’m not asking you to come reverently or unquestioningly; I’m not asking you to be politically correct or cast aside your sense of humor (please God you have one). This isn’t a popularity contest, it’s not the moral Olympics, and it’s not church. But it’s writing, damn it, not washing the car or putting on eyeliner. If you can take it seriously, we can do business. If you can’t or won’t, it’s time for you to close the book and do something else.

Wash the car, maybe.

This book was originally recommended to me by the brilliant and inspiring Amy Christine Parker (author of Gated, Astray, and Smash and Grab), who I had the privilege of meeting in person, so I’m happy to be finally reading it.

I wish I could say I’ve been doing other interesting things over the course of the week, but that would be a blatant lie. School comes first. I haven’t been able to binge that new season of Arrow that came out on Netflix forever ago, or re-watch Mighty Morphin Power Rangers in preparation for the movie this March (it comes out five days after my birthday, this small coincidence of the new movie from my favorite childhood show being in such close proximity to my birthday makes me unbelievably happy), or even just sit down and put in some words on my ongoing novel.

I have, however, been keeping up with my webcomics, as I’m able to read them on the app “Tapas” (here’s the main site, “Tapastic“) in between classes, and the recent turn of events in Backlash has me super excited for the direction of the story (Alias is bae btw, he’s just the best). One of my favorite webcomics of all time, for sure. Seriously. Go check it out. Right now. Right here. And pay BITEGHOST, the brilliant creator of this epic webcomic, a visit on deviantart here.

red hot punches by BITEGHOST (yes, that’s Alias above)

And the newest page that came out today in The Property of Hate is just awesome.Yes, that character has the head of a TV, his name is RGB, and it’s amazing how fast you get attached to him (the little girl he’s holding is named “Hero”, and the whole comic is built on metaphors and literal representation and things of the sort, it’s amazing). Don’t judge till you read it.

Page 272 by modmad

And perhaps you’ll join me, and become a fan of Backlash and share my excitement. Or perhaps even The Property of Hate (and look to this old post for a bigger list of webcomics I adore). JOIN ME, HAHAHAHA! >:)

Hope your week is much more eventful than mine was!

 

best wishes,

takanoir

 

508

Leave a Reply

